Reviews

SweetBreathofMemory“Warmth, humor, and friendship juxtapose against the raw reality of war’s cruel hand in this engaging debut. The many poignant layers enrich the reading experience and enable the vivid characters to sing deeply into one’s heart. Strong women (stronger than they realize themselves to be) grace the pages, but the most exquisite aspect of the story is found in the reminder of the collective strength of community.”– RT Book Reviews Magazine, 4.5 Stars (Top Pick)

“…a heartwarming story of survival, forgiveness, and moving on.  An inspirational tale.” – Booklist

“A literary masterpiece…awe-inspiring, heart-warming and inspirational…an absolutely outstanding debut.” – The Book Magnet (U.K.). Read the full review here.

“Cohen’s flair for prose is evident throughout the book…Sweet Breath of Memory is so well written it is unfathomable that this is a debut novel.” – New York Journal of Books Read the full review here.

“How lucky I feel that Ariella Cohen’s lovely, life-giving novel, Sweet Breath of Memory, found its way into my hands. To call it a sweet story is to underrate its power, for there is power here, and a storyteller at the top of her game.” – Jacquelyn Mitchard, New York Times bestselling author of The Deep End of the Ocean and Two if by Sea

“Sweet Breath of Memory…tells the story of a woman who is grieving the loss of her husband in the Iraq war with a Holocaust survivor and other women who lost loved ones during World War II. It is a powerful story about the connection of these women from different generations who are experiencing similar emotional journeys.” – Massachusetts Jewish Ledger (Summer Reading List)

“An uplifting, heartwarming and compelling tale of second chances, new beginnings, healing and redemption..a terrific debut novel from a wonderful new writer.  Readers of Susan Wiggs, Jojo Moyes and Jodi Picoult are going to love Ariella Cohen’s Sweet Breath of Memory. A gifted writer who writes with great compassion, sensitivity and heart, Ariella Cohen has a wonderful gift for characterization and, writing with broad strokes and plenty of flair and style, she has created fantastic characters that leap off the pages and will linger in the mind long after the last page is turned.  An outstanding novel that is superbly written, wonderfully told, densely plotted and guaranteed to make readers laugh and cry, Sweet Breath of Memory should be in everyone’s beach bag this summer!” – Bookish Jottings (U.K.). Read the full review here and guest post here.

“Filled with compassion, humor and honesty, Ariella Cohen’s Sweet Breath of Memory is a powerful story of forgiveness. “Life is in the telling”—a phrase repeated by the small town’s characters—captures the nature of healing for this cast of women grappling with the effects of war and grief. Through food and friendship, a community releases its long held secrets, and Cohen provides solace for her characters and her readers.” – Karen Brown, author of The Longings of Wayward Girls and The Clairvoyants

“…both the characters and the reader learn about the gifts that storytelling and community offer us all.” – Greenfield Recorder.  Read the full review here.

“Ariella Cohen spins a tender yarn about the enduring nature of love, the importance of friendship and the eternal longing for a place to call home.  Sweet Breath of Memory is a big-hearted story; every page brims with warmth, wisdom and compassion.” – Yona Zeldis McDonough, author of You Were Meant for Me and The House on Primrose Pond.

We suffer loss alone, but we heal in a community, Ariella Cohen says toward the end of her compelling debut novel.  This talented new author explores issues ranging from misleading first impressions to the Holocaust through four women who, as so often happens, becomes unlikely friends.” – Meg Waite Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of The Wednesday Sisters and The Race for Paris

“With tragic, yet powerful, events the authors transports us in time and around the world.  We are gifted with a cast of amazing characters and a story that will have us anxious to share it with others.” –  Book Mama Blog

“…a story that should be slowly savored and appreciated.  Sweet Breath of Memory is a fantastic emotional story with a delightful loving core.”  – With Love For Books (U.K.)  Read the full review here.

“Sweet Breath of Memory is a magnificent story of friendship, resiliency and compassion that is deeply moving. This beautifully rendered debut novel by Ariella Cohen has a unique storyline and an incredible cast of multi-faceted characters that will leave an indelible mark on readers’ hearts.  A heartfelt and captivating story of hope and healing that I absolutely loved and highly recommend to fans of contemporary fiction.” – Book Review & More By Kathy Read the full review  here.

I thank the author for taking me on a roller-coaster of emotions which left me with a new, entirely positive feeling about life, love and friendship.” – Bibliobeth (U.K.) Read the full review here.

This is luminous, heart-warming writing, with a story that will stay with you long after you reach the end. It could potentially be one of those rare books that you will want to re-read from time to time, for the deep wisdom contained within its pages. Highly recommended!” – Modern Gypsy Read the full review here.

Readers will find themselves caught up in this amazing book where they will find a story of love, friendship and an eternal longing for peace.” – Night Owl Reviews, Top Pick Read the full review here.

This is a fantastic book full of wonderful characters. I laughed – especially with Lulu, the town car mechanic and I cried along with Cate. I highly recommend it.” – 10 Books for Fans of Chick-Lit, Women’s Fiction and Family Sagas.  Read the full view here.

Cohen manages to balance the atrocities of war with a heartwarming small town tale.” –  Chick Lit Central Read the full review here.

Goodreads ratings & reviews here.

LibraryThing ratings & reviews here.